IRC remains the predominant keelboat rating rule in Australia with over 500 boats rated annually and is supported by Yachting Australia staff in cooperation with RORC Rating Office and a national network of accredited measurers.  IRC certificates are renewed annually and valid from June 1, 2016 to May 31, 2017, providing owners with a certification to enter any IRC event in Australia. As part of the international rating system, owners also have the ability to enter their boat in any international IRC event.

IMG 0230

This year Yachting Australia have introduced online technology to deliver a more efficient renewal process of IRC applications, removing unnecessary delays attached to payment and data verification.  All IRC certificates will be issued electronically as a PDF file via email, so owners can save and submit, when required, to their local sailing club offices. 

The Australian Yachting Championships, previously known as the IRC Australian Championship, will be held at Hamilton Island in August this year where the prized trophy is awarded within the IRC Division. Other heavily contested offshore events in Australia that award IRC trophies include; Rolex Sydney Hobart (Tattersalls Cup), Brisbane to Gladstone Yacht Race, Adelaide to Port Lincoln Yacht Race, Melbourne to Hobart Yacht Race and Fremantle to Bali Race.

For the full press release, see

Image courtesy of Yachting Australia

Can't find the answer?

If you cannot find the answer to your question, please contact the RORC Rating Office
To report broken links on this site contact

Header images by:

John Crawley (CAN IRC)  
Jinno (c/o JPN IRC)
Back to top